The Gambia: Ousainou Darboe & Co Denied Justice

The judge, Justice O. Ottaba of the Special Criminal Court in Banjul has gone against the dictates of the constitution of The Gambia in denying the bail application of Ousainou Darboe and Co today. the 5th May 2016. According to our sources on the ground, the judge has denied them bail because he believed in the state prosecutor’s arguments that the defendants will interfere with the prosecution witnesses.

Lawyer Ousainou Darboe and Co appeared in court in high spirit, but the cruelty that is being meted out on them is beginning to have its toll on their health, as most of them appear frail.

Similarly, the government of The Gambia is systematically torturing Ousainou and Co by denying them access to medical attention or any form of medication. They are also being denied access to proper food, sanitation and  their families, as guaranteed in the constitution of The Gambia.

However, the court proceedings for Ousainou Darboeand Co have been adjourned until Monday 9th May 2016, whereas, Nogoi Njie and Co have been adjourned until Wednesday 11th May 2016.

Meanwhile, the authorities have devised another system to detar people travelling to Banjul today, Thursday 5th May 2016 to attend the court hearings of Ousainou and Co. Heavily armed soldiers have been deployed to block entrances to Banjul and diverted commercial vehicles away from court house drive amidst several protests in previous court sittings. They have also continued to mount several checkpoints with armed police and military presence in all the strategic locations, in a bid to intimidate the populace.

Furthermore, from Wednesday’s court appearance on 4th May 2016, the state prosecution, led by the Director of Public Prosecution (DPP) S.H. Barkun ,has added seven new names to the charge sheet of Solo Sandeng’s group, which included Nogoi Njie, Fatoumatta Jawara and Fatou Camara, who were taken to court as part of the defendants.

The names of the twenty-five (25) charged people with seven counts from the original protest are: Nogoi Njie, Fatoumatta Jawara, Fatou Camara, Modou Ngum, Ebrima Jabang, Kalilou Saidy, Kawsu Bayo, Bubacarr Jah, Muhammed Jawneh, Bubacarr Touray, Saderr Secka, Lamin Jatta, Lamin Camara, Ebrima Jadama, Pa Ousman Njie, Kekuta Yabo, Lamin Sonko, Bubacarr Gitteh, Baba Ceesay, Modou Touray, Ebrima Janko Ceesay, Alhagie Fatty, Alhagie Jammeh, Lansana Beyai, Lamin Marong,